Updated my Linode VPS from Ubuntu 16.04 LTS to 18.04 LTS

My Linode VPS is still of Ubuntu 16.04 LTS. Seems too old. And the CPU usage is always around 70%.

First, I found that the ghost used most of the CPU. Then I stopped and uninstalled the instance. the CPU usage dropped to about 1%. What are ghost doing there?

Second, I found an article on Linode How to Upgrade to Ubuntu 18.04 LTS . It is easy to follow. Just answer a few questions during installation, then everything is done. But after reboot, I found that the "apt update" always failed. It could reach the server. Then I tried "ping google.com", and just got "temporary failure in name resolution". I solved it finally by following instructions in page How to resolve "Temporary failure in name resolution" issue.

Last, I found that my php-fpm was not started. I solved this by re-install it. Then I found the imagemagick.so load failed. A shared library "libwebp.so.5" could not be found. I find the that there are "libwebp.so" and "libwebp.so.6" somewhere. Both of them point to another shared library. I created one symbol link, and restart the php-fpm. Then the issue is gone.

The services on my VPS are very limited. Only LNMP, and a blog run on Wordpress. The whole update cost me about an hour. Not so bad.